to main page send e-mail Last Updated:  Friday, January 19, 2018

The independent voice of the global moving industry


20 mph speed limit in central Edinburgh started Sunday, 31 July

Aug 01, 2016
Drivers in the centre of Edinburgh face a £100 fine and three penalty points if they exceed the new 20 mph speed limit which came into force yesterday (Sunday, 31 July).

This is phase one of the £2.2m project and covers much of the city centre, from Queen Street to the Meadows.

20 mph speed limit in central Edinburgh According to a report on the BBC News website, Lesley Hinds, Edinburgh's transport convener, said, "Slower speeds bring many benefits to the urban environment, making streets more people-friendly, promoting active travel (and thereby improving public health) and reducing the risk and severity of road collisions. "The majority of Edinburgh residents support our 20 mph scheme and we know that other local authorities in the rest of Scotland are closely monitoring our experience.”

However, Neil Greig, IAM RoadSmart Policy and Research Director is unconvinced of the value of the scheme. “It’s a blanket approach. On some streets, 20 mph is a speed that you might aspire to rather than need to limit yourself to. But there are others where it looks and feels safer to go over 20, and that’s potentially confusing because drivers take their cue from the environment.”

“If you look at the evidence, what seems to work is measures like speed bumps and narrower roads. Covering whole areas in one 20 mph limit and putting up some signs is a cheap way to do it. We’d rather see investment made in dealing with the streets where there will be the most benefit,” said Neil.

The rollout of 20 mph speed limits across Edinburgh will be carried out in six phases:

  • Zone One - City Centre and Rural West (South Queensferry, Kirkliston, Ratho, Currie and Balerno) 31 July, 2016;
  • Zone Two - North. Speed limit applies from 28 February, 2017;
  • Zone Three - Three South Central/East. Speed limit applies from 28 February, 2017;
  • Zone Four - North West. Speed limit applies from 31 July, 2017;
  • Zone Five - West. Speed limit applies from 31 July, 2017;
  • Zone Six- South. Speed limit applies from 31 January, 2018.

       Doree Bonner are hiring - join the purr-fect movers!

     List of advertisers
     Directory of suppliers
     Sign up to our monthly newsletter
     Unique page views in October: 6,662

  Maxi Mover - low floor Luton van sales
Cookies: This site uses non-invasive cookies to provide an enhanced visitor experience and to measure site performance.  By viewing this website you are agreeing to our use of cookies in this manner.  For further information on how cookies are used on this site, please see our privacy policy.
Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  All material © 2011 The Words Workshop Ltd.